I MINA TRENTAI KUÅTTRO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTION STATUS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE COMMITTEE REPORT FILED	NOTES
		Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Island Music Awards Hall of Island Icons, as	10/24/18	10/28/18						
		well as all local artists, performers, and entertainers who have been nominated on the		6:00 p.m.						
530-34 (COR)		occasion of the Tenth (10th) Annual Island Music Awards, to be celebrated on Sunday,								
		October 28, 2018 at the Lotte Hotel Guam; and to further wishing these artists continuing								
		success in all their future endeavors.								

2018 OCT 24 MI 10: 33 CY

I MINA'TRENTAI KUÅTTRO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2018 (SECOND) REGULAR SESSION

Resolution No. 50-34 (COR)

Introduced by:



Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Island Music Awards Hall of Island Icons, as well as all local artists, performers, and entertainers who have been nominated on the occasion of the Tenth (10th) Annual Island Music Awards, to be celebrated on Sunday, October 28, 2018 at the Lotte Hotel Guam; and to further wishing these artists continuing success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAL KUATTRO NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN:

WHEREAS, it is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those talented individuals within our midst, who have had a significant impact on the arts and culture of our communities through their outstanding musical entertainment; such individuals include local artists, performers, and entertainers who have been recognized through the annual Island Music Awards ceremony; and

WHEREAS, attendant to such concern, and in full accord with long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate these artists upon the occasion of the Tenth (10th) Annual Island Music Awards to be celebrated on Sunday, October 28, 2018, at the Lotte Hotel Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Island Music Awards (IMAs) were first established in 2008 as the only awards show to annually recognize and honor Guam's most prominent musicians and dancers, aiming to bring these individuals to the forefront of public attention; and

WHEREAS, every year, the community is invited to vote for their favorites 1 across all categories online at www.guamima.com. These categories include: Best 2 Club DJ, Best Happy Hour, Best Dance Band, Best Rock Band, Best Reggae Band, 3 Best Cover Band, Best Cultural Dance Group, Best Contemporary Dance Group, 4 Best Male and Female Performers and more; and 5 WHEREAS, recognizing the work of previous artists, the IMAs has further 6 inducted distinguished musicians and performers into their prestigious Hall of Island 7 Icons. These artists include Mr. Johnny Sablan, Mr. Jimmy Dee, The Radiants, 8 Bokkongo, Mr. Patrick Palomo, The Compadres, Ms. Flora Baza Quan, Ms. Candy 9 Taman, Ms. Rose Martinez, Jesse and Ruby, The Sirenas, and Da Udda Band aka; 10 D.U.B.; and 11 WHEREAS, with deep appreciation, this Legislative Body is pleased to have 12 this opportunity to recognize the mesmerizing talents of these Icons, as well as every 13 artist who has been nominated for the 10th IMAs, and to wish continuing success in 14 15 all their future endeavors; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina' Trentai Kuattro Na 16 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 17 people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the Island Music Awards Hall of Island 18 Icons, as well as all local artists, performers, and entertainers who have been 19 nominated on the occasion of the Tenth (10th) Annual Island Music Awards, to be 20 celebrated on Sunday, October 28, 2018 at the Lotte Hotel Guam; and be it further 21 RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on 22 Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that 23

copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Sorensen Media Group; and to the

Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guahan.

24

25

2

1	DULY AND REGULARL	Y ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE OF
2	RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI	KUATTRO NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHA
3	ON THE _ DAY of OCTOBER	2018.
4		
5	THERESE M. TERLAJE	RÉGINE BISCOE LEE
6	Acting Speaker	Chairperson, Committee on Rules
7		
8	RÉGI	NE BISCOE LEE
9	Legis	slative Secretary